Why people look for a PandaDoc alternative#
PandaDoc is good at what it is: a document editor with e-signature and tracking, from $19 a seat on an annual plan, with unlimited signatures even on the free plan.4 The search for an alternative usually starts somewhere else. A services firm sells after a call: the scope is agreed out loud, the price is in the founder’s head, and the proposal still has to be built by hand that evening. The AI help in document tools is an assistant inside the editor: it rewrites a paragraph, fills a variable, drafts a section from notes you paste in.1 16 9 The assembling stays yours.
So the honest comparison is not editor against editor. It is who writes the proposal, from what, and what happens after it leaves.
Five things to check before you switch#
1. What the AI writes from. A prompt, a pasted transcript, the CRM deal, or the call that is already on the record. Each step of pasting is a step you do.
2. What happens after the proposal leaves. Tracking tells you it was opened. The question is who writes the follow-up on day four and who presses send.
3. The signature and the money. Is the e-signature in the plan or an add-on, and does the tool raise the invoice or hand you a payment link.
4. Where the proposal lives. Apart from the CRM, synced by an integration, or on the same record as the inquiry and the call.
5. The unit of the price. A seat, with or without a minimum, or the company. Count the people who touch a proposal, including the one who only signs.
Six tools compared on the proposal, from the call to the signature#
Each cell is from the vendor’s own page or help center, read on October 22, 2026; the number names the source. PandaDoc’s marketing site answered our reader with a challenge page, so its cells come from its help center and developer docs. “Not stated” means the page we read does not say; the vendor may still do it. Prices are list prices on that day. Tommos’s facts are from its own plans and documentation.
| What | Tommos | PandaDoc | GetAccept | Proposify | Qwilr | Better Proposals |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| What kind of tool it is | A CRM whose agents take an inquiry to a signed contract; the proposal is one of their steps | Document software: “Create, send, and track PandaDoc documents”3 | “A Digital Sales Room platform”8 | “A proposal management platform”17 | “The tool to build an interactive and automated proposal process”19 | “Create Professional Proposals in Minutes”; templates and branding, no built-in AI writer2324 |
| What the AI writes the proposal from | The whole proposal as a letter, from the meeting on the record and the estimate you give; nothing to paste | An assistant edits an open document from prompts; you “paste call notes into the chat”; guided creation fills variables from a pasted transcript or a HubSpot record. Beta12 | Sections (discovery summary, executive summary, business case) and Deal Room pages from prompts, meeting transcripts and notes, uploaded files9 | Writes and refines from prompts; you “paste your call notes, meeting transcripts, project requirements” into the proposal1618 | Scale plan: “AI pulls the relevant detail out of call transcripts and meeting notes”, CRM deal data, a guided form, then assembles it20 | None inside: “AI for customer communication is banned”; your own AI agent can create a proposal from a template over MCP2425 |
| After it is sent: tracking and reminders | Tommo Closer follows up on the proposal on the schedule you set and tells you where the deal stands; each follow-up waits for your “Send” | Analytics on Business and up; auto reminders to signers on Business and Enterprise, at most 10 per recipient46 | Tracking stakeholder by stakeholder, time per page; automated reminders on eSign; “AI follow-up automation writes personalised follow-ups”81112 | You “see when prospects are viewing your document”; reminders sent by the tool: not stated16 | Page analytics; alerts to you when pages are viewed, accepted or stall; buyer reminders through your CRM’s automations1922 | You are notified on open and see which sections were read and for how long; the Nudge add-on ($10 a user a month) shows who needs a nudge, a person sends2324 |
| Signature and payment | On Sign: your signature in the card; a client’s own envelope signed in it; the invoice by two presses, paid through Mercury | Unlimited e-signatures on every plan, the free one included; payments through Stripe4 | Unlimited e-signatures on the eSign plan; payments: not stated11 | Signatures on every plan; payments through Stripe16 | E-sign on all plans; QwilrPay for partial, full or recurring payments, 0.09% fee on Starter19 | Legally binding signatures on Starter; Stripe, GoCardless and PayPal from the document23 |
| Where it lives | The CRM is the product: the inquiry, the call, the proposal, the contract and the invoice are one record | No CRM inside; HubSpot, and Salesforce as a paid add-on4 | No CRM inside; Salesforce, HubSpot, Pipedrive, Dynamics, SuperOffice, Lime11 | No CRM inside; Salesforce and Aspire add-ons $9 a user a month; HubSpot, Zoho, Pipedrive, Dynamics, Close, Copper, Nutshell1716 | No CRM inside; HubSpot, Zoho, Pipedrive on all plans; Dynamics on Growth; Salesforce on Scale19 | No CRM inside; HubSpot, Salesforce (Advanced), Pipedrive, Zoho, Close, Capsule, Insightly23 |
| Price, its unit, the trial | $599 a month per company (Close) or $899 (Sign), a year −20%; no seats, the AI model included; 14 days, no card | Free eSign (5 documents a month); Starter $19 a user a month on an annual plan, $35 monthly; Business $49; 14-day trial, 50 documents45 | eSign $25 a user a month; Professional $49 a user, minimum 5 users, 12-month agreement; 14 days, no card1112 | Build $39 a user a month on an annual plan, $49 monthly; Grow $65; Scale $107 plus a $12,800-a-year platform fee for 10 users; 14 days, no card16 | Starter $35 a user a month on an annual plan, 1 seat, 40 documents a year; Growth $55, 5 seats; Scale $75; 14 days, no card19 | Starter $13 a user a month on an annual plan, 1 seat, 10 sends a month; Premium $21; 14 days, no card23 |
| Your own AI gets in | An MCP server: Claude, ChatGPT or Cursor works your records and deals as you | An MCP server; a Claude connector on all plans, free for a limited time37 | An MCP server, in beta; the REST API on Enterprise only14158 | A Claude connection on Build; an API1617 | An MCP server on all plans: Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor; templates made over MCP spend automation credits1921 | An MCP server on Premium and up: Claude, Cursor; “ChatGPT can’t connect”; cannot edit an existing proposal2325 |
How the proposal is written in Tommos#
Tommos (tommos.ai) is a CRM whose AI agents, the tommos, take a B2B inquiry to a signed contract. The proposal is not a document you build; it is a step Tommo Closer takes on the deal, on the Close plan. See the plans.
The call is on the record. The meeting that Tommo SDR booked sits on the deal with its transcript kept on it. After the call, Tommo Closer writes the recap from the meeting on the record and asks you for the estimate: the scope and the price are yours.
The proposal is written, not assembled. From the meeting and your estimate, Tommo Closer writes the proposal as a letter in your voice and puts it on a card. You press “Send” or “Skip”, or edit it first; a proposal never goes on its own. When the client’s working day is over, the card offers “Send on” their next morning beside “Send now”.
The follow-up is on the schedule you set. If the client goes quiet, Tommo Closer follows up on the proposal on the schedule you set, by default the first after 4 days and the next 7 days later, three in all, each on a card for your press, and then tells you where the deal stands.
The paper and the money, on Sign. Tommo Legal drafts your SOW and NDA from your own templates, and Tommo Closer carries the SOW in a letter. You sign inside the card, through the e-signature service in the Sign price; a paper the client sends in their own e-signature envelope is signed in that envelope. After the deal is won, Tommo Closer proposes each invoice on its day; you make and send it by two presses, through Mercury.
Your own AI works beside the tommos. Connect Claude, ChatGPT or Cursor at app.tommos.ai/api/mcp and ask “which proposals are waiting for an answer?”. What an agent can do in Tommos.
Have the proposal written from your call in Tommos#
A person sets this up once; the tommos run it on every deal after that.
- 1
Open the workspace
Sign in with your Google work account at tommos.ai/signup. Your workspace opens at once: 14 days of everything, no card. On the start path press “Connect mail and calendar”: one Google consent gives Tommo your mail and your Google Calendar, and the start makes the meeting “Intro call”, 30 minutes, with a Meet link on each booking.
- 2
Put the form on your site
On the “Forms” page, create a form, switch on “Tommo SDR works the leads from this form”, and paste its embed code where your “Contact us” form stands today. Under “After submit”, choose “Show the booking calendar” so the call is booked, with its Meet link, on the deal.
- 3
Correct the Playbook
At the start, Tommo reads your site and writes the “Playbook” pages: who you are, who your buyers are, what you offer and how you describe yourselves. Fix what is wrong; the proposal is written in that voice.
- 4
Give the estimate, decide the card
After the call, Tommo Closer writes the recap and asks for your estimate on a card under “Tommo asks you”. Answer with the scope and the price. The proposal comes back as a letter on a card: press “Send” or “Skip”, or edit it on the card.
- 5
Put your templates and your bank in, on Sign
On Tommo Legal’s page, under “Documents”, press “Copy the folder’s address”, open the folder in Drive and put your SOW and NDA templates in its “Templates” folder. In Mercury, allow the address shown under “First, in Mercury, allow this address on the token”, paste the token, press “Connect Mercury”. Each invoice is then made and sent by “Make the invoice” and “Send”.
Which to pick#
- You send a few designed proposals a month and sign them yourself. Better Proposals Starter ($13 a user a month on an annual plan, 10 sends) or PandaDoc’s free eSign plan, by their pages.23 4
- You want the client to pay from the proposal page. Qwilr with QwilrPay, or PandaDoc and Proposify through Stripe.19 4 16
- You run a sales team of five or more with a CRM already, and you want deal rooms and AI sections. GetAccept Professional, five users minimum.11
- You sell after a call and want the proposal written from that call, chased, signed and invoiced on the same record, with you giving the price and pressing Send. That is Tommos: one price per company, and your own Claude welcome beside the tommos.
Questions about PandaDoc alternatives#
- Which PandaDoc alternative writes the proposal from the sales call?
- A proposal written from the sales call is a proposal whose scope, price and next step come from the record of the call itself and the seller's estimate, with nothing pasted into a template. None of the five proposal tools takes the call itself, by their own pages read October 22, 2026: PandaDoc, Proposify and GetAccept take a transcript or notes you paste, Qwilr's Scale plan reads transcripts and CRM data and asks you to fill a guided form, Better Proposals has no AI writer and bans AI in customer communication. Tommos is the one where the call is already on the record: the meeting is read once, and Tommo Closer writes the proposal as a letter from it and from the estimate you give.
- What does the person still do?
- In Tommos: the call, the estimate (the scope and the price are yours), the read of the card, and the press. On the Sign plan, your signature in the card and two presses for the invoice. In the proposal tools the person also assembles the document from the template, pastes the transcript or notes, and sends the reminders where the tool does not.
- Is Tommos's proposal a designed document like PandaDoc's?
- No. It is a letter: the scope, the price and the next step, written in your voice from the call and your estimate, with the link to your SOW, drafted from your own template, when the client needs paper. A client who wants a designed proposal page gets one in PandaDoc or Qwilr; a client who decides on a clear letter gets this one.
- What do three people pay a year?
- On the vendors' annual list prices read October 22, 2026: Better Proposals Premium $756, PandaDoc Starter $684 or Business $1,764, Proposify Build $1,404, Qwilr Growth (five seats) $3,300, GetAccept Professional (five-user minimum) $2,940. Tommos Close is $5,748 a year for the company, Sign $8,628. The seat buys an editor and a signature; Close buys the proposal written and chased on the record of the inquiry and the call; Sign adds the signature and the invoice.
- Can I keep PandaDoc for the signature and use Tommos for the proposal?
- The proposal is a letter from Tommos, and the paper is signed where it arrives: a contract the client sends in their own PandaDoc or DocuSign envelope is signed in that envelope from the card. Tommos does not send its own paper into your PandaDoc account. On the Sign plan your own signature is in the card, with the service's certificate and record, in the price.
- Do these tools work with Claude or ChatGPT?
- Most now run an MCP server, by their pages read October 22, 2026: PandaDoc, GetAccept (beta), Qwilr, Better Proposals (not ChatGPT), and Proposify has a Claude connection. What your agent finds inside differs: documents in the proposal tools; in Tommos, deals already moving, each with its call, its proposal and what it waits for. Our page for agents lists what it can do.
Sources#
- PandaDoc Help, “Editing documents with the PandaDoc AI assistant”, read Oct 22, 2026
- PandaDoc Help, “Template workflow builder and guided document creation”, read Oct 22, 2026
- PandaDoc Help, “PandaDoc Claude connector”, read Oct 22, 2026
- PandaDoc Help, “Compare subscription plan features”, read Oct 22, 2026
- PandaDoc Help, “Free eSign plan vs free 14-day trial”, read Oct 22, 2026
- PandaDoc Help, “Auto reminders”, read Oct 22, 2026
- PandaDoc Developers, “Getting started with MCP”, read Oct 22, 2026
- GetAccept, “AI info”, read Oct 22, 2026
- GetAccept Help, “Smart Content in GetAccept”, read Oct 22, 2026
- GetAccept, “GetAccept + Fathom”, read Oct 22, 2026
- GetAccept, “Pricing”, read Oct 22, 2026
- GetAccept, “Proposal software”, read Oct 22, 2026
- GetAccept, home page, read Oct 22, 2026
- GetAccept Help, “Connect with GetAccept’s MCP”, read Oct 22, 2026
- GetAccept, “What’s new”, read Oct 22, 2026
- Proposify, “Pricing”, read Oct 22, 2026
- Proposify, “AI info”, read Oct 22, 2026
- Proposify, “AI proposal generator”, read Oct 22, 2026
- Qwilr, “Pricing”, read Oct 22, 2026
- Qwilr, “Smart Proposal Engine”, read Oct 22, 2026
- Qwilr, “7 proposal prompts to try with the Qwilr MCP”, read Oct 22, 2026
- Qwilr Guides, “Qwilr + HubSpot”, read Oct 22, 2026
- Better Proposals, “Pricing”, read Oct 22, 2026
- Better Proposals, home page, read Oct 22, 2026
- Better Proposals, “AI proposal generator”, read Oct 22, 2026
Read next
- Tommos vs PandaDocThe two side by side: the proposal from your call, the signature, and what three people pay in a year.
- How to write a services proposalWhat a proposal after a discovery call must say, and what Tommo Closer writes from the call.
- From inquiry to contract in one toolThe six steps of a B2B sale on one record, and what breaks when they run through five tools.