Why a founder-led agency needs a different CRM#
In a founder-led agency the person who sells is also the person who delivers. A new inquiry arrives during a client workshop. The proposal is written at eleven at night. The invoice goes out two weeks after the work, and the reminder never does. A CRM built for a sales team assumes someone sits in it all day; a founder opens it on Friday to find out what went cold.
So the question is not which CRM has the nicest pipeline. It is which CRM does the next step when you are not there: the first reply, the two or three times to meet, the recap after the call, the proposal from your estimate, the follow-up on day four, the invoice and its reminder. And when it does act, who said yes.
Every CRM below calls itself an AI CRM. The pages say different things when you read them.
Five things to check before you pay#
1. What the AI does by itself on a deal. “Drafts a follow-up” and “answers the inquiry, books the call and follows up” are different products. Ask the vendor’s page which steps happen without you, and from which record.
2. Who approves an email to a client. A draft you must send is your work. An agent that sends alone is your reputation. The page should name the rule: a review every time, a review until you trust it, or no review.
3. Per seat or per company. Per seat is cheap at one person and grows when you add a project manager who needs to see the deal. Per company stays one number. Check too whether the AI’s work spends credits on top of the plan.
4. What happens after the deal is won. An agency’s deal is not closed at “won”; it is closed when the SOW is signed and the invoice is paid. Few CRMs go there. The ones that do save you a proposal tool, a contract tool and an invoicing tool.
5. Does it work with the AI you already use. If you ask Claude or ChatGPT questions all day, the CRM should let that agent read and write your records with your permissions. Every CRM here has an MCP server; what the agent finds inside differs.23
Six AI CRMs compared for a founder-led agency#
Each cell is from the vendor’s own page, read on October 21, 2026; the number names the source. “Not stated” means the page we read does not say; the vendor may still do it. Prices are the vendors’ list prices on that day. Tommos’s facts are from its own plans and documentation.
| What | Tommos | HubSpot Starter | Attio | folk | Ahoy | Octolane |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price, and what it is priced on | $299, $599 or $899 a month per company; no seats; the AI model included | $20 a seat a month; $7 on an annual plan, a limited-time offer for new customers12 | Free for 3 seats; Plus $35 a user a month on an annual plan6 | $24 a member a month on an annual plan; Premium $4810 | $79 a seat a month on an annual plan; Pro $165; “no credit meter”14 | Pro “49 per seat per month”; currency and billing period not stated16 |
| Free plan or trial | 14 days of everything, no card; 30-day money back on the first payment | Free tools for 2 users; no trial of Starter1 | A free plan; a 14-day trial of Pro, no card6 | A 14-day trial, no card10 | No free plan; a 14-day trial after a demo call, card required14 | No free plan; a 14-day trial of Pro, no card16 |
| What the AI does by itself on a deal | Answers the inquiry, offers times, books the call, follows up; writes the recap and the proposal; reads the client’s paper, drafts your SOW and NDA | Drafts and sends outreach, but only on Sales Hub Professional or Enterprise, on credits322 | Enriches and scores leads; agents “draft the play for you to approve and run”; Sequences send “zero-touch follow-ups”78 | Drafts a follow-up, researches a profile, writes a recap, scores a lead; the Workflow Assistant automates outreach11 | Prepares a brief before each meeting; drafts follow-ups, tasks and pipeline updates15 | “Detect, draft, enrich, approve”: drafts follow-ups when a deal goes quiet, drafts outreach, enriches accounts17 |
| Who approves an email to a client | A signed-in person: “Send” or “Skip”. After 12 clean approvals, a person may switch “Let Tommo send here” for that form. A proposal never goes alone. | Your choice: “requests your review before sending or operates autonomously once you trust the output quality”3 | You “approve, modify, or reject” suggestions; no approval step on Sequences8 | You “can preview emails before sending”; the Workflow Assistant sends on triggers11 | “Sending email and deleting records always wait for a person to approve with one tap”15 | “Every AI action that changes data or sends a message queues for review”17 |
| After the deal is won: proposal, contract, invoice | The proposal from your estimate (Close); the MSA read, your SOW and NDA drafted, your signature in the card, the invoice by two presses (Sign) | Quotes with e-signature on Revenue Hub Professional and Enterprise; invoices on all plans45 | Not a feature; “Proposal” is a pipeline stage in a screenshot7 | Not a feature; “Proposal sent” is a stage in a screenshot11 | “Proposals” in a pricing-table row, no description14 | Not stated16 |
| Works with the AI you already use | An MCP server; Claude, ChatGPT or Cursor works your records as you; an agent can open the workspace | An MCP server for developers; a Connector for Claude2 | An MCP server on every plan, the free one included69 | folk MCP on every tier; API on Premium and up1013 | An MCP server on every plan; “no public API documentation yet”1415 | An MCP server and a REST API on Pro1618 |
| Who the vendor says it is for | Founder-led B2B service firms of 1 to 50 people that sell on inquiries | “For Startups & Small Businesses”2 | “The agentic CRM built for how startups actually work”7 | “The #1 CRM for Agencies”12 | “Founder-led teams, typically one to five seats”14 | “For founders and small teams running their first real sales motion”16 |
Lightfield, which AI answers also name for this question, is priced at $89 a user a month on its Starter plan and says it is for “everyone at your company”, product and engineering included; its agents do research, meeting prep and follow-up drafts, and it runs an MCP server.19 20 21 Its page does not say whether the agent sends alone, nor does it mention contracts or invoices.
What a founder-led agency gets in Tommos#
Tommos (tommos.ai) is a CRM whose AI agents, the tommos, take a B2B inquiry to a signed contract. It is priced per company, not per seat, and the tommos and the AI model they use are in the plan. See the plans.
The inquiry is answered while you work. Tommo SDR replies to a form submitted on your site in your voice, from what the person wrote, offers two or three times to meet and books the call. If nobody answers, it follows up on the schedule you set: by default the first after 4 days, the next 7 days later, three in all; you can set 1 to 60 days and 1 to 10 times. Then it tells you where the deal stands.
The recap and the proposal come to you as drafts. On the Close plan, Tommo Closer writes the recap after the call and the proposal as a letter from your estimate, and follows up on the proposal. You read it on a card and press Send or Skip. A proposal never goes on its own.
The contract and the invoice do not wait for a quiet evening. On the Sign plan, Tommo Legal reads the client’s MSA against your positions and writes a clause memo, drafts your SOW and NDA from your own templates; you sign inside the card, through the e-signature service in the Sign price; a paper the client sends in their own e-signature envelope is signed in that envelope. After the deal is won, Tommo Closer proposes each invoice on its day; you make and send it by two presses, and the reminders after the due date are written on their day and sent by a press.
You decide every email, until you decide not to. Each outward email waits on a card for a signed-in person. After 12 clean approvals of one kind of reply on a form (an admin can set 1 to 100), the tommo asks to send that kind alone, and you switch “Let Tommo send here” for that form, on a paid plan. When the lead’s working day is over, the card offers to send on their next morning (“Send on”, with the day and hour on their clock) beside “Send now”.
Your own Claude works beside the tommos. Connect it at app.tommos.ai/api/mcp, sign in once, and ask “where does the Acme deal stand?”. What Claude can do in Tommos.
Set up the sales process in Tommos#
A founder sets this up once, and the tommos run it on every inquiry after that.
- 1
Open the workspace
Sign in with your Google work account at tommos.ai/signup. Your workspace opens at once. 14 days of everything, no card. On the start path press “Connect mail and calendar”: one Google consent gives Tommo your mail and your Google Calendar, and the start makes the meeting “Intro call”, 30 minutes, with a Meet link on each booking.
- 2
Put the form on your site
On the “Forms” page, create a form, switch on “Tommo SDR works the leads from this form”, and paste its embed code where your “Contact us” form stands today. Under “After submit”, choose “Show the booking calendar” so a visitor who wants to talk picks a time right there.
- 3
Teach Tommo how you sell
At the start, Tommo reads your site and writes the “Playbook” pages: who you are, who your buyers are, what you offer and how you describe yourselves. Open the “Playbook” and correct what is wrong. Tommo SDR writes every reply from these pages and from what the person submitted.
- 4
Decide the first replies on the cards
Each new inquiry brings a card with the reply and the two or three times offered. Press “Send” or “Skip”, or edit the letter on the card first. After 12 clean approvals on that form, Tommo asks to send alone; switch “Let Tommo send here” when you are ready.
- 5
Connect the money, on Sign
In Mercury, allow the address shown under “First, in Mercury, allow this address on the token”, paste the token, press “Connect Mercury”. From then on each invoice is made and sent by two presses: “Make the invoice”, then “Send”.
Which CRM to pick#
- You want a free place to keep contacts and you will write every email yourself. Attio’s free plan for three seats or HubSpot’s free tools for two users, by their pricing pages.6 1
- You run a network-driven agency and want AI drafts, research and scoring per member, at the lowest seat price. folk names agencies on its own page and starts at $24 a member a month on an annual plan.10 12
- You sell to companies on inquiries and want the deal worked for you, from the first reply to the signed SOW and the paid invoice, with you deciding each email. That is Tommos: one price per company, the agents inside it, and your own Claude welcome beside them.
Questions about CRMs for founder-led agencies#
- What is the best CRM for a founder-led agency?
- The one that does the follow-up and the paperwork while you sell: it answers the inquiry, books the call, writes the recap and the proposal, chases the invoice, and asks you only for the decision. Judge it on what the AI does by itself, who approves an email to a client, whether the price is per seat or per company, what happens after the deal is won, and whether it works with the AI you already use. Tommos is built for exactly that reader; folk, Ahoy and Octolane name small teams or agencies on their own pages; Attio and Lightfield do not, by their pages read October 21, 2026.
- Per seat or per company: which is cheaper for a small agency?
- At one or two people, per seat wins on the sticker: folk's Standard plan is $24 a member a month and Attio is free for three seats, by their pricing pages read October 21, 2026. The question is what the seat buys. In those CRMs the AI drafts and you send, enrich and chase yourself or on credits. Tommos charges per company, from $299 a month, and the tommos do the SDR work, then the Closer work, inside that price, with no seats and no credit meter.
- Should the CRM's AI send emails to my clients on its own?
- Only by a rule you can read. HubSpot's Prospecting Agent and folk's Workflow Assistant can send without a per-email review, by their pages read October 21, 2026. Ahoy and Octolane queue every send for a person, by theirs. In Tommos a person presses Send or Skip on each card; after 12 clean approvals of one kind of reply on a form, a person may switch on sending for that form and kind, and a proposal never goes by itself.
- Which of these CRMs handles the proposal, the contract and the invoice?
- HubSpot does quotes with e-signature on Revenue Hub Professional and Enterprise, and invoices on all plans. Tommos writes the proposal from your estimate on the Close plan, and on the Sign plan reads the client's MSA, drafts your SOW and NDA from your templates, takes your signature inside the card, and makes the invoice by two presses. By their pages read October 21, 2026, Attio, folk and Octolane do not offer it; Lightfield's home page shows a proposal-draft skill.
- Can I keep using Claude or ChatGPT with the CRM?
- Yes, with all six: each runs an MCP server, by its own docs read October 21, 2026. The difference is what your agent finds inside. In Tommos it finds deals already moving, each with its last step and what it waits for, and it can open the workspace for you. Our comparison of CRMs for AI agents has the seven tests.
- Is there a free CRM for a founder-led agency?
- Attio is free for up to three seats and HubSpot's free tools serve two users, by their pricing pages read October 21, 2026. Both leave the follow-up and the proposal to you. Tommos has no free plan: 14 days of everything with no card, then a plan per company, with a 30-day money-back guarantee on the first payment.
Sources#
- HubSpot, “Pricing”, read Oct 21, 2026
- HubSpot, “Starter Customer Platform”, read Oct 21, 2026
- HubSpot, “AI sales prospecting”, read Oct 21, 2026
- HubSpot, “Quotes software”, read Oct 21, 2026
- HubSpot Knowledge Base, “Create invoices”, and “Understand contracts in HubSpot”, read Oct 21, 2026
- Attio, “Pricing”, read Oct 21, 2026
- Attio, home page, and “Attio for startups”, read Oct 21, 2026
- Attio, “Ask Attio”, and “Sequences”, read Oct 21, 2026
- Attio, “MCP”, read Oct 21, 2026
- folk, “Pricing”, read Oct 21, 2026
- folk, “AI sales assistants”, and the home page, read Oct 21, 2026
- folk, “The #1 CRM for Agencies”, read Oct 21, 2026
- folk Help Center, “MCP”, read Oct 21, 2026
- Ahoy, “Pricing”, read Oct 21, 2026
- Ahoy, “Ahoy CRM”, and the home page, read Oct 21, 2026
- Octolane Docs, “Plans and pricing”, read Oct 21, 2026
- Octolane Docs, “Approvals”, and “How the AI works”, read Oct 21, 2026
- Octolane Docs, “MCP overview”, read Oct 21, 2026
- Lightfield, “Pricing”, read Oct 21, 2026
- Lightfield, home page, read Oct 21, 2026
- Lightfield Docs, “MCP quickstart”, read Oct 21, 2026
- HubSpot Knowledge Base, “Get started with AI-powered prospecting”, read Oct 21, 2026
- Tommos, “The best CRM for AI agents: seven tests”, Oct 16, 2026